Was it….???

 

tcRecently, I was watching one of the Mission Impossible movies, and it got me thinking about the time that I met Tom Cruise…maybe.

It was that magical summer of 1983, and I was sharing an apartment on Park Avenue (East Orange, NJ) with two friends and a bunch of other guys who crashed on the sofa and the floor, etc. as needed. I had a part-time job at a restaurant, which allowed me to pay my share of the rent, be able to eat and to pitch in for the party supplies. That was all I needed, along with my 1973 Toyota Corolla, with the bald tires and the holes in the floor!

Anyway, one of the guys I shared the apartment with had gone to high school in the neighboring town of Glen Ridge, with Tom Cruise, who had just hit it big in the movie “Risky Business”. I was not sure whether or not to believe him, but it did make some sense, Tom was our age, and did live in Glen Ridge for a few years…so who knows?

That was a pretty wild summer, and I was doing quite a lot of drinking and other substances, so I pretty much forgot about my buddy’s claim to know the newly famous actor, until he announced that his old friend Tom was coming over!

It was a hot night, we did not have air conditioning, I had worked all day, and I was already getting well organized, though it was early in the evening and still light out. Well, the drunker I got, the more I asked my friend if he really knew Tom Cruise, and then of course, I made it clear that this did not impress me (obviously it did). So, I figure that I was being pretty obnoxious by this point, but that did not stop me from continuing to drink and drug.

Sometime during that night, after asking for the 10th or 50th time “When is Tom Cruise gonna be here?” I passed out on the sofa, which was probably a relief to everyone else in the room.

After I had been out for a while, I was roused from my stupor by a commotion in the room! My memory is hazy, but, what I remember is this guy walking through the room telling everyone “I’m Tom Cruise!” As he walked by I shook his hand, and he went into another room, closing the door behind him, and I fell back on sofa and was out again, until the next morning!

Now, it is possible, that this really was Tom Cruise the actor. I think he looked kind of like him, but I was seeing double at that point, so I am not really sure. It could also be that my friends were messing with me, which I would have deserved for being so obnoxiously drunk.

To this day, I do not know if I actually met Tom Cruise that night, but it does make for a good story!

Actually, there were many stories that came out of that summer, some even more embarrassing, and just as puzzling – as I spent much of that summer intoxicated!

All of these stories are reminders of why it is a good thing that I have not had a drink since 1989, and why I should not pick up another one, today!

Leave a comment